Friday Festival Update: Smilefest, Wanee, and more

The Allman Brothers-centric Wanee festival released their lineup today, and it keeps getting more inclusive each year. April 16th and 17th will see The Allman Brothers Band and Widespread Panic on both nights, while the rest of the lineup includes Gov’t Mule, Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi Band, Weir Wasserman and Lane, Stephen Stills, The Black Keys, Johnny Winter, Hot Tuna, MOFRO, Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings, Parliament Funkadelic, Railroad Earth, Scrapomatic, Oteil and Kofi Burbridge with The Lee Boys, The Wailers, North Mississippi Allstars, Dumpstaphunk, Chuck Leavell with Randall Bramlett Band, and many more. Particle and others will participate in a special kick-off party on Thursday the 15th.

The rejuvenated Smilefest has announced their initial artists, and it looks like they’ll be keeping it all historically relevant and such. It also seems that they’re trying to keep it simple and somewhat laid-back. Even so, the three headliners that have been revealed – Keller Williams, Acoustic Syndicate, and Keller and the Keels – are worth a drive into the mountains any day. Perhaps the most intriguing announcement is that of a Magraw Gap reunion. As usual, there should be plenty of collaboration at this one.

Stay tuned for more updates this weekend!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s