Gathering of the Vibes Announces 2009 Band Lineup

Vibes '09

Gathering of the Vibes has announced the initial lineup for the 2009 edition of the festival, which will take place July 23-26 at Bridgeport, Connecticut’s Seaside Park.

Continuing the festival’s jam-heavy history, the lineup includes moe., Bob Weir and Ratdog, George Clinton and P-Funk, Levon Helm Band, Buddy Guy, Grace Potter and the Nocturnals, State Radio, Keller Williams with Gibb Droll, Jeff Sipe, and Keith Moseley, Assembly of Dust, JJ Grey and Mofro, Perpetual Groove, Deep Banana Blackout, Dark Star Orchestra, John Brown’s Body, Lettuce, Max Creek, The Harlem Gospel Choir, Donna Jean Godchaux Band, Ryan Montbleau Band, Strangefolk, and King for a Day.

Reggae, blues, rock, funk, jam, folk, and psychedelic music are all well-represented in the initial lineup. More bands will be added in the coming months.

An interesting aspect of this summer’s festival season is how Phish’s touring plans, announced and unannounced, will affect the attendance at weekend camping events. With a limited amount of dollars allocated for entertainment, most fans are going to have to choose their fun carefully. 2009 has already seen the cancellation of Langerado – what other drama will occur this summer?

Gathering of the Vibes website


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s